Press Releases

Jasman, Leaver Recipients of "The Caring Kind" Award

Published: Nov. 9, 2017

LA VISTA, NEB. — The Nebraska Hospital Association (NHA) recognized 66 Nebraska member hospital employees on October 27, for their excellence in service by bestowing them with the organization’s prestigious “The Caring Kind” award.

Methodist Health System’s Susan Jasman and Cindy Leaver were among those recognized. Jasman is the breastfeeding boutique coordinator at Methodist Women’s Hospital and Leaver is the lead room service ambassador at Methodist Hospital.

Jasman has worked at Methodist Women’s Hospital the past four years and was honored as Employee of the Quarter for the 2017 third quarter. Leaver has been with Methodist for more than 8 years and was Employee of the Month in March 2017.

For 38 years, The Caring Kind award has been given to Nebraska's most caring and compassionate hospital employees. The award honors outstanding health care employees who have demonstrated compassion for patients, cooperation with co-workers and dedication to excellence in their job responsibilities.

“It is such an honor for me to meet The Caring Kind award recipients each year.  They demonstrate the kindness, caring, dedication and commitment to their hospitals which is why they were awarded this recognition,” NHA President Laura J. Redoutey, FACHE, said.

Hospitals across the state each select one The Caring Kind award recipient from within their respective institutions to be recognized during the NHA Annual Convention.

More than 2,400 caring, skilled and dedicated health care professionals have received this award since its inception in 1979. This year, 66 employees were honored before more than 500 people in attendance at The Caring Kind Awards Luncheon held at Embassy Suites Omaha-La Vista Hotel & Conference Center in La Vista.

The event showcases the exemplary work and care hospital employees provide every day throughout the year. Every Nebraska hospital employee plays a critical role in providing high-quality, cost-effective treatment and ensuring the safety of themselves, their co-workers and patients each and every day. These honorees are star performers through their dedication to patients and teamwork, ensuring that care is safe, quality-driven and cost-effective for consumers, as well as for the organizations they represent.